kiorama.

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-10-08 - 11:42 a.m.

two things to discuss:

(1.) I went to the Yankees/Red Sox game last night- Sal's pops gave him tickets from his work's schmooze fund. We'd hoped to sell them but that ended up being more difficult than we'd intended, so we just kept them. I'd only been to one baseball game before- my semi-friend (much less so since she started dating her boyfriend and being lobotomized) Alex's birthday Mets function, but Sal has been to "hundreds" of Yankee games before, so he was all excited to show off this monument of his childhood, which was so cute.

Not cute, however, were the hordes, throngs, tsunami destructo waves of bulky, red-faced, boorish, beer-guzzling men, endlessly scattering peanut shells and starting fights with one another in the stands, snotty BU freshmen and Bronx family men alike. When a bunch whistled loudly at a tank-top-wearing woman crossing the stands, I yelled out "I fucking hate men!" with as much gusto as everyone else's "Let's go Yankees!" or "Go Aaron Boone!"- to Sal's chagrin, but I couldn't keep it to myself at that point.

I did really have a good time, though-it's fun to see so many people all worked up in a (mostly) positive way. The actual game sucked because the Yankees lost badly, but damn if baseball hot dogs aren't delicious!

(2.) No, I don't feel like talking about the other thing now, but I will soon. I'm on a hunt for places that sell Garbage Pail Kids today. I can't properly explain why they make me so happy. I was such a fiend for them when I was in 2nd-4th grade (I collected Garbage Pail Kids before I knew what sex was. And in 1988, the best year ever- I'm spending 2004 celebrating the 15th anniversary of 1988)-even though some were so disturbingly gross. I guess they serve as a physical reminder of things I can never go back to- pickles at the Co-op grocery store, Mohawk Mall, for one, which has now been turned into a Target, which makes me happy, and makes me hope that when the World Trade center is rebuilt, they put back the Borders bookstore, where we used to have Lit 102 classes in the cafe with my hot hot professor Geoffery Brackett..

So yeah, GPKs.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!