kiorama.

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2001-08-04 - 10:52 p.m.

I had a nice time with my family and five thousand niecephews (okay, four). We went to an amusement park and a religious site where two Jesuit missionaries were martyred in the sixteen hundreds. Ok, we seriously drove for over an hour to stand in this murder site! And it's littered with crucifixes and candles! There was this ivory box full of relics, which are, if my Catholic education serves me, the body parts of martyrs!! People venerate bits of teeth and hair, as if it will grant them wishes. NOw, I am all for sainthood if it is deserved, like for those who have directly helped people. But those weirdo saints who got canonized for starving themselves? Should we make a Saint Every "Hallelujiah"-Sputtering Schizophrenic On The Subway? HUH? Should we?? If I get a papercut and say it's in the name of Jesus, will I then be a candidate for sainthood?

I swear the kids saw it all as more of a haunted house-type experience than some religious one.

Jimmy Fallon IS annoying drunk on this MTV party thing! I hate him. He went to college with my sister. He sat with the obnoxious people in the dining hall. But he was not hot- I never noticed him. Andy Something, on the other hand, was. I noticed him. JF lived in Alumni Hall, the obnoxious, frattish ("ish" because fraternities are not allowed at this Catholic college) dorm, as opposed to Morris Hall, the more subversive, artsy, let's-set-this-dorm-on-fire-ha-ha building, as one might think, although my friends Coli and Scher DID.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!