kiorama.

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2001-07-10 - 12:46 p.m.

Yes, I saw the Kotter E True Hollywood story last night, but mostly just the end. Gabe looked young, and so did, um, Julie.

Elementary-school snacks that no longer exist:

(* not counting obviously discontinued product-licensed products, like Nintendo cereal, Hi-C Ecto cooler, or New Kids fruit snacks)

pudding roll-ups (naugahyde on a piece of plastic)

-Fun Fruits (tangy gelatin droplets)

-FruitSlush (mish mush?)

-Crispy Critters cereal

-microwaveable smores

-Rocky Road cereal (the marshmallow, chocolate, and something else were a rock band, and one ingredient was a girl and wore sexy high heels on the box)

-Boppers (not Bonkers, those are still in dollar stores. You know, like a chocolate log with peanut butter inside. As referenced in "the Lost Boys")

-there was something called Skinny Dips, but I'm not sure what they were. Crackers?

-New York Deli potato chips, my "purple passion"

(they still sell O'Boises, though- at least at Goony Golf in Lake George, NY)

-Nerds cereal, which we fed to Toto the dog when he had cancer, so I hated it.

-French bread pizza still exists, but is SOO 80's I doubt anyone still eats it. Esp. Stouffers' brand.

-Mountainberry Punch Kool-aid.

Snacks that will probably soon be deemed "90's":

Zima?

Boku juice?

lattes

I don't know.

I know it's lame to do that "UH-HUH REM. THESE NOSTALGIC THINGS FROM THE AY-TEEES??!" thing, especially with toys or tv shows (although it's fun when somebody recalls a show or item so obscure, you were sure you'd invented it and it was fake), but it just stemmed from thinking about my elementary school lunches, which is a time and place for learning the "f" word and mildly dirty jokes.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!