kiorama.

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2001-07-13 - 12:51 p.m.

In ida-red's latest entry, she says something about how it's bad to read too much because one needs "input AND output" for, I don't know, a healthy life, basically, and this scared me a little because I have read four books since Monday... Does going to the movies count as "output"? We went to see Final Fantasy last night- packed with nerds who laughed at everything- it was really quiet and odd but I kept myself awake marvelling at the characters' lovingly-rendered intricate facial features, and the weirdness of hearing Steve Buscemi's voice coming out of some hunky-type guy.

The AMC 25 theater in Times Square is the biggest waste of space I've ever seen: twenty-five screens, yes, but with only like four per floor, meaning you have to take about six escalators to get to #25 (as we did). The rest of the place is just wide open floorspace, doing nothing. It's like they're going for an amusement-park feel, and all those escalators are supposed to be a fun ride. Plus, the actual theaters are really small, which, considering ALL that possible space, they don't need to be.

I also kept awake thinking about the movies coming out that I'm excited to see, like Ghost World (which I didn't read all, but some, of, in my lonely comic-store frequenting days)- where I can marvel at SB not being a hunky guy- and of course, American Pie 2- in hopes that skinnier, cockier J Biggs will be as cute as before.

I'm actually supremely frustrated right now, because

1. Le agencia du temps totally (in the infamous words of Former Roommate Bess) blew sunshine up my butt about an assignment, so now I'm back to job-hoing for endless jobs I'm underqualified for (STAY IN COLLEGE KIDS), and fab money-fretting, which I love to do so much

2. Shawn still has not been informed whether he is doing this tour or not, so I am still limbo-ed about what I"M going to be doing come August.

@#$*&^#(*@&!!!

ps. the four books I just read are Black, White, and Jewish by Rebecca Walker (memoir by Alice's daughter about growing up biracial) Man Made by Ken Baker,(memoir of a guy who unknowingly grew up with an excess of a female hormone) Augusta,Gone by Martha Du..something, (memoir of a mother with a BAD daughter) and Crawling at Night by Nani Power (non-memoir seedy sushi chefs. Found scenes of sexual encounters between employees disturbing, as used to be Japanese restaurant waitress).

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!