kiorama.

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2001-07-07 - 9:17 p.m.

People I miss and wish I could locate and talk to:

Avery (first and foremost. This is the first in five summers he hasn't been in my life in one way or another. He was my boyfriend four different times between ages 16 and 21, but mostly he was one of the best friends I've ever had, and maybe the person I most took for granted. I feel like my not being able to contact him is my penance for being such a huge bitch. Has it been long enough? I wish so much we could just reincarnate the Fun Car and get ziti pizza and drive somewhere, not even to Boston. And watch a Marx brothers movie. I'm not pulling a Keith Circa 1999 here; all I want is to say hi.)

Broad (I've talked to her recently, but it's not the same. I miss her melon smell and that Old Navy backpack that she hates now, her cuddliness when she gets drunk and eats paper, her brother's magic tricks, the Kurt Knate comic strips, her "los fries" webpage, being her Bun and Sugaloaf. We Hate It When Our Friends Become Sophisticated- see also JLB.)

Nick (who I "looked after" at Schdy Community College, who mooched drinks and cigs from me, we'd stay out until daytime and sleep when the birds were chirping. He taught me so much without knowing it. He and S are ridiculously alike. I hope he's back in school and ambitious, and has had much better "experiences".)

Joe (is probably already famous for something. I would sift though the desperation of my first year of college just to relive one of those weekends barhopping at Iona. He saved me and many others so much. The goodness in him can't be justified with words. He's actually humble, and I doubt that's changed.)

Coli (we used to say we were sisters, but I forget why. She's been a rock star her whole life. The caffe era was one of the most significant parts of my teen years. Paddy-worshipping and snickerdoodle begat her own headlining shows in Albany and beyond. And we were once the Polywogs, and jammed at the high school talent show. I'm confident in her successes now.)

Tara (T-dog, T-bone, co-survivor of slothful slovenly sisterhood. I was the family provider, and you pr'ed the brothel clientele. Three girls, one guy, one cat, and one mastiff squished to sleep in one room with a Christmas tree for a month by choice. Why? I hate TGI Friday's, and loathe your popularity at the mall, but I love you.)

Also missed: Monica, Trish L, Scher, Steve C, Tina, Maki, Jeremy, Danielle MA

And these damn "people finder" search engines aren't helping me at all.

I'm so jaded of books for some reason (I NEED RECOMMENDATIONS), I turned to the YA section of the lib yesterday. Yay, because 'The Adventures of Blue Avenger' by Norma Howe is great, like junior Doug Coupland.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!