kiorama.

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2001-04-02 - 10:32 p.m.

I erased all my old entries because I thought they were lame, especially after reading other peoples' diaries. Pshaw. So what if what I have to say is lame? Who am I showing off for? These entries are mine, after all. And I doubt that anyone else reads them, anyway.

Possible Highlight of Day: I finally have my own desk at work. Now I am no longer Hidden Corner Girl. Actually, it sucks a little because now I'm out in the open, and everyone can now notice how I take a five minute break for every five minutes of work I do.

Is this scary- I believe the TBS superstation is trying to take over my television. We no longer get NBC, CBS, ABC, and as of today, FOX (which I nicely realized after rushing home from the lib to get back in time for Ally McBeal, which I only started watching like three weeks ago. Mr. Shawn has like a nonsexual crush on R.D. Jr, so we watch together, agog, in agreement of his hotness.). So we now only get TBS (I can only watch "the Devil's Advocate" so many times, Charlize or not, do you hear me?), the home shopping network, a public television station with an affinity for Victor Borge specials, and two Spanish-language channels which mostly air talk shows consisting of a dozen borderline-drag queen hostesses asking Ricky Martin to bear their children, or something. And that's all! Now, I had no tv at all for two years, and I was really enjoying having it back. Goddamn you, Ted Turner!! I know you're behind this!!

Man! And do you know what I'm going to go through the most withdrawal from, I think? Fox 5 news. It's so semi-trashy and hastily thrown together. It's the daytime talk show of network news programs. Even if it wasn't my only option of news channel, I would still watch it because it drives me nuts. I pity you (you, the generalized presumably nonexistent gentle reader) if you live outside the metropolitan NY/NJ area and are forced to miss out on the spectacle (oh! I pity myself now, too!) that is Fox 5 news. More specifically, the spectacle that is Ms. (Mrs.? Mr.?) Penny Crone, on-the-street news correspondent. She's like a female Robert Patrick. Same voice, I swear. Same steely demeanor. I mean, who hires a news correspondent with a two-pack-a-day habit? Isn't it supposed to be like seventy percent about voice and diction? (Yes it is; I once had a Broadcast Journalism-major roommate, so I know these things.) And she just never seems to care too much about what she's reporting on! Not to say the Fox 5-ers always have groundbreaking reports (although they did once interview Esther from Jane magazine, which rocked). But still. During that huge storm last month, she was standing there in, like, Westchester, mid-blizzard, and all she could say was "Well, it looks like there's a lot of snow here."

What a riot!! I hope she goes on to win awards.

So as I sign off tonight, trying to forget that the Simpsons is on in five minutes (so I did take out ALL those books today for a reason), I salute you, Pen (as she's called by her fab Fox 5 coworkers) Crone.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!